Skip to main content


FEMA Individual Assistance Extended to All 21 New Jersey Counties

Release Date: November 06, 2012
Governor Chris Christie Announces FEMA Individual Assistance Extended to All 21 NJ Counties

Trenton, NJ - Governor Chris Christie today announced that the federal
government has extended disaster assistance for New Jerseyans impacted
by Hurricane Sandy to all 21 counties, providing direct assistance to
individuals and households in the aftermath of the historic hurricane
Sandy. Individuals in all New Jersey counties are now eligible for
federal disaster relief. New Jersey residents and small businesses in
all 21 counties are now eligible for Individual Assistance through the
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and U.S. Small Business

Eligibility allows New Jerseyans to apply for different types of
assistance, including temporary housing, repair, replacement or other
needs such as Disaster Unemployment Assistance, and Small Business
Administration disaster loans.

All 21 of the counties have already been approved by the federal
government as eligible for Public Assistance, which is an additional
form of federal disaster relief. Public Assistance Program funding is
available to state and eligible local governments and certain private
nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and
the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by Hurricane Sandy.

Residents of the counties that had yet to been declared eligible for
individual assistance by the federal government are now being encouraged
to begin the process of registering with FEMA for relief. Survivors of
Hurricane Sandy who suffered damage should apply for disaster assistance
with the Federal Emergency Management Agency - even if they have
insurance or aren't sure if they are eligible.

Register by phone at 800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 800-462-7585 for those
with hearing or speech impairments. Specialists are standing by at the
toll-free numbers seven days a week, 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. local time, until
further notice. Help in languages other than English is available. Or
you can register online at You can also apply
through a web-enabled mobile device or smartphone by visiting and following the link to "apply online for federal